A Note To Parents: We make every effort for Roxanne's blog to be a SAFE site for children. Whenever possible, activities are in pdf format or link to safe sites for children. Please feel free to use the information in these posts for homeschool studies! All rights reserved by author and nature photographer, Virginia Parker Staat.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Junior Iditarod Winner

Merissa Osmar led the pack to win the 2010 Junior Iditarod. She is the granddaughter of sledding champion Dean Osmar. He won the Iditarod in 1984.

Merissa led her 10 dog team from Willow to Yentna Station and back to Willow again. Anitra Winkler won second place. Rebecca Ruzicka won third place.

Thirteen mushers raced their teams in the Junior Iditarod. Each team had to rest for 10 hours at Yentna Station. During that time, veterinarians checked the dogs to make sure that they were healthy. Doctors checked out the mushers.

Each team was led by one musher and had 6 to 10 dogs. They traveled 140 miles during the race.

Seven girls and six boys led teams. All of them were from the United States except for one. Guillermo Anton came from Spain. He is studying in Alaska and learned how to mush this year.

If you would like to read more about each teen musher, go to http://www.jriditarod.com/musherbio.php.

Congratulations to Merissa and your dog team!

If you would like to read more about the Junior Iditarod, Scholastic Books has a great article from the 2008 race. Go to http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/iditarod/junior/index.asp?article=winner2008

No comments:

Post a Comment